What Am I?

I am not
Nor will I ever be
The rising of the sun
The setting of the moon
The whispers of the calm before a storm
The smile on your face
The echo of your embrace
The wind within the sails.
I am what I am
Through the ages of time
And seek not what others think I should be.
I tread the waters
Of who I am
Feeling the danger
Of thinking I know what I am.
I am not the vessel
In which I reside.
I am not the blood coursing inside.
I can feel it surrounding
Obeying my commands
And it is hard to filter out
All the world demands.
Who am I
This thing that sits within
This wretched existence
I’m forced to abide?
What am I
This thing looking out
Through these eyes
Seeing beauty in all
Even when disguised?
Why am I
This thing that breathes
In this form that doesn’t please
That changes with time
Never whispered or whined?
How am I
To be or become
What doesn’t feel
A part of what’s mine?

I can only say
I’m here
Because you’re mine.

© Kate Spyder

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

