Jumping Ship

I’ve jumped ship
That is all I can say
Jumped into the roiling morass
Of the dark blue sea
To divine its ever loving depths
Which surround and devour me.

I float in its depths
Awaiting…
The teeth of its effervescence
The snarl of its hateful words
The cold embrace that slakes its lust
Upon this helpless form.

I close my eyes into darkness
I long for its warm embrace
To feel nothing but its heated breath
Upon the cold ashes of my soul.

My mind searches for what is unseen
Where a heart once beat with joy
Now captured in deep searing pain
So deep neither knife nor sword can reach
Nor cut the phantom from its grasp.

My soul surrounds this discontent
Like a lover once long lost, now found
Never more to be let go or unbound.

I feel at last
Nor haste be met
What has captured
Shall not be released
It is for me
And me alone
This whisper
Of malcontent.

If anyone dares
To unshackle this beast
Be wary of its long sharp teeth
It won’t let loose
Without a fight
Nor without
An unshed tear
Or words
Whispered in the night.

© Kate Spyder

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jumping Ship

  1. Pingback: A Submissive’s Journey – 5June2014 | Breathe In My Touch

  2. ItMatterstoGrey says:

    I am in a sea of trouble

Leave a Reply

