Oh, Pray Thee

Oh, how I do not wish
This darkness to descend
Upon this mortal soul
How I do not desire
Its chilling embrace
Its tight coil of madness
Its repeating rhythm
Thrumming in my brain
Of all the discordant melodies
And saccharine kisses
It beats upon me
Like the chains
Of a lost love
Whispering true love
In the madness
In the overwhelming loneliness
Grasping hold
To drag me
Beneath its roiling surface
Making promises
Never intending to keep
Oh pray thee,
That it does not take me
Pull me into its rancid embrace
For fear it will never release
Never will I see
The light of another day
The blossoming of another rose
Or the beating of another’s heart
Oh pray thee,
That it will allow me
One more glimpse of true love
Of the blissful kiss of another
In the gentlest caress
Of his control
Feeding this starving naïve creature
Slipping into the abyss
Of my unrelenting burning need.

© Kate Spyder

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

