Boat – Flash Fiction Challenge week 33

flash-fiction-badge1

I have no idea what I’m doing but having seen this challenge on Mark’s WP blog, I thought I would give it a try. The original challenge came from Thain in Vain, go check it out.

Week 33
Prompt: Open the book you are reading right now (or a favourite if you aren’t reading anything, oh, and shame on you!), turn to page 33 (or 33% on e-readers) and write a super flash fiction about the first proper noun (person, place or thing) on the page! Word count is 500 as usual, but feel free to use 33 as your word count for this week!!

Here is my attempt:

They say, he had lived here for a million years. I questioned the storyteller’s sanity.

Except he didn’t speak of a person.

He spoke of the dark lord’s boat which sailed unmanned nightly.

____________________________________________________

I am reading Lara Adrian’s (written as Tina St. John), “The Dragon Chalice” Series on my eReader. It is a combination of 3 books so finding 33% took me close to the end of book one and the word “boat”.

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Boat – Flash Fiction Challenge week 33

  1. Mark Baron says:

    Awesome job, and love the longer version as well! So glad I was able to inspire you to jump in!

    • Kate Spyder says:

      Thank you! It was an interesting challenge. I couldn’t think of a single thing for your Thursday challenge. Then I saw the Flash Fiction challenge and decided to see what word would come up. All it took was that word to create the spark. Thank you for sharing the challenges.

  2. Coloured me intrigued! This is a great short piece and would make an excellent longer piece! Also, welcome aboard! We’re having a lot of fun! Nice work! TiV

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge – Week 33 Submissions | Thain in Vain

  4. Megan says:

    This sounds like a great beginning to a very intriguing story.

  5. Great story. I enjoy it.

  6. Very intriguing, I like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

