A Dream of Hope

I had a dream the other night, some might consider it a nightmare. I on the other hand have my own interpretation of the dream.

The dream was about a man, a vicious man.  A man who intended harm to my close friends. We all stood together as he tried repeatedly to get to one or another of my friends and do them harm. As he tried and tried again, I saw a serrated knife lying on the counter next to me. I picked up the blade and held it behind me. I knew he was intentionally trying to harm my friends to hurt me, so the next time he tried to reach one of my friends who was next to me, I plunged forward thrusting the knife towards his stomach. At first it didn’t sink in very far, so I stepped back and plunged the knife in again with much greater force using the momentum of my body to force it in. I could feel it as it broke through the different layers, skin and then muscle and then nothing stopped it until the handle met his stomach. Then I twisted it and angled it upwards to cause as much damage as I could and watched as he crumbled onto the ground at our feet.

I woke after that and considered who or what this man represented in my life.  There are no actual people in my life who are this vicious so I knew he did not represent an actual person. I thought about people like him in society and how they are a blight upon society. I would like to think this dream represents my battle with the blight in my life and if it does it gives me hope that I will win this battle.

There was one other time I had a dream like this in my life during a very important turning point. Dreams for me carry messages. They give us clues as to what is going on in our lives. I think they can also be prophetic.  What I do know for certain is if you can ascertain their meaning they can help you make good choices in your life.  I have had some dreams show me the true nature of a person and the person’s influence in my life damaging or eating away at the core of who I am, so I pay close attention to my dreams, especially those which are very clear and remain with me for long periods of time.

Take what you will from this and know for me this dream was no nightmare but a dream of hope.

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in A Submissive's Journey, Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Dream of Hope

  1. introvertedmonkey says:

    It seems you are having better luck overcoming your fears than I am. In my dreams I am always completely powerless and the weapons I wield are always dull or malfunctioning. It makes overcoming my fears an almost impossible task, I wonder what that means…

    • Kate Spyder says:

      My understanding of dreams is that each individual in the dream represents a part of ourselves, even the antagonist or whatever it is we fear. I however am not a dream analyst but most cases I can understand my own dreams if I look closely at what is going on in my life. In fact, I am sure the antagonist in my dream represents the cancer I am fighting. Without knowing what is going on in your life any stab I might make at what it means would be a stab in the dark but you saying you are always completely powerless seems you understand full well what your dream means. My thoughts are your dreams are telling you that you need to find a way to take back control and find the appropriate tools to do so, ones that won’t fall apart or malfunction. But that is only a guess on my part. Some dreams are quite literal while others are symbolic. The thing for me is I feel fear 24×7 every day of my life, especially now, but what makes me powerful in my dreams and in every day life in overcoming my fear is to not let that fear keep me from taking action. I’m always analyzing the situation, researching, and looking at it from every direction and then finding what I hope will be the best solution for me. Those are my tools. Those are what got me through some of the hardest times of my life. They are also the tools I use in my dreams. It isn’t the actual knife or implement that gets me through the situation. It is my mind and my willingness to face my fear. But then you probably weren’t looking for me to interpret your dream. 🙂 Thank you for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

