Who Am I?

It’s dark
I’m aware
Moisture seeps in
Surrounds me
As I reach downward
And upward
All at once.
A blanket
Both warm
And cold
Surrounds me
Moist
Damp
Comforting.
I reach
Downward
And upward
Simultaneously
Looking for
And receiving
Releasing
And giving.
One day
I break through
Discover
A new world.
I feel warmth
Love
And Heat
In an invisible touch.
Kindness
In a soft caress
Both cool
Refreshing
Accepting
Of who
And what
I am
As I reach
As I welcome
What this new world
Brings
Upon an awakening
New life.
I spread out
Reach out
Not just downward
Or upwards
But now in all
Directions.
Above I absorb light
Below I absorb darkness
Above I absorb air
Below I absorb moisture
Above I absorb compassion
Below I absorb comfort
Above I am vulnerable
Below I am vulnerable
I am
At the mercy
Of a new world.
I could be plucked
Or cut
Separated from
My most essential part.
Or poisoned
And left
To wither away.
Or left
On my own
To struggle
In the chaos
Where no one
Understands
The importance
I bring.
Or
I could
Flourish
Nurtured
In loving care.

© Kate Spyder

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Am I?

  1. Tokoni O. Uti says:

    Very deep and poignant

Leave a Reply

