Our Dog

Our dog
Is so rude
He burps
After scarfing
Down his food
As if
We would
Take it away
At the very
Last moment.
Or afraid
It will be
His very
Last morsel.

Our dog
Was rescued
From the streets
Of L.A.
Where he survived
On scraps
People discarded
Along the way.
He’s a happy
Puppy now
He gets fed
Every day
And plays fetch
With his ball
Placing it
Perfectly in our hand
For us to throw
Yet again
And again.

We love
Our little boy
He is there
Through thick
and thin
He sits with us
When we cry
Or when we
Feel sick
Or at
Wits end.
He shares
His love
Without conditions
Without restraint
Or hesitation
We love our little guy
He’ll be with us
for all time.

© Kate Spyder

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Dog

  1. BallsyBilly says:

    Sounds just like my spoiled little girl Lila.Especially the burping part. I didn’t really teach her, but she dances on her hind legs when she wants a treat 🙂
    She’s a rescue dog that I got on her last day.
    She’s called Lila, short for Delilah, because she stoled my heart. 🙂

    • Kate Spyder says:

      I had a dog I called Delilah a long time ago, the shortened version became Dee. She was a sweety, adopted some kittens when they were abandoned. But I couldn’t keep her home. She was the roaming sort who loved to hunt for herself and chase birds and deer. Would have made a great hunting dog if someone had taken the time to train her.

Leave a Reply

