What do you do….

What do you do when your daughter is feeling miserable with nausea and itching because she is having an allergic reaction to mosquito bites? And over the counter meds are not helping. You take her to a doctor hoping he can help.

What do you do when all the doctor does is tell you to do the same thing you have been doing only changing the name of the OTC medications you are already using? You spend the money and give it a try.

What do you do when those OTC medications fail to help in any way?

You become your daughter’s doctor and find a solution on your own.

I keep in my cupboard an herbal tincture called golden seal. I use it when either one of us gets sick with the cold or flu or other ailments. I use this instead of taking my daughter or myself to a doctor for things they might prescribe antibiotics for. Golden seal is a natural herb which has antibiotic properties. Not unsimilar to garlic, so we keep both of these on hand. I sometimes use both at the same time because they do have different antibiotic properties.

The first night my daughter was home after I picked her up from her school camping trip, I gave her some golden seal prior to going to bed. I also had her soak in a tub of warm water in which I added sea salt. The sea salt I use is not processed and therefore still contains the minerals and kelp and other things from the sea. She slept the whole night through without waking up and itching.

The second night we did the same thing, and again she slept through the night.

Both days were filled with applying the salves and taking claritin to try and stem off the itch and taking something for the nausea. All of which didn’t seem to help for long.

On the third day after two nights of her sleeping without itching, it dawned on me to keep giving her the golden seal periodically throughout the day. Her day yesterday was the first day of no itching. Her mosquito bites were no longer swollen and in fact looked to be healing nicely. In the past it would take a good week or more before the itching would subside and the swelling to go away. But at that time it was only one or two bites and not the thirteen or more she had this time.

My lesson? If in doubt, always treat with golden seal and/or garlic. I did give her garlic once or twice but not as frequently as the golden seal. I use a pure golden seal tincture, organic preferable and of course ingestible. I don’t use the tinctures which are a mixture of other herbs with golden seal. When my daughter was younger and smaller I would give her 15 drops in juice. Now that she is adult size, I give her 30 drops in juice. Two to three times a day, depending on how ill she is.

I am not a doctor, nor an herbalist, nor a naturopath. I’m just a human who believes in allowing nature to help our bodies heal. It infuriates me when people, in particular doctors scoff at my belief in natural medicines and natural healing. However, once I found out the pharmaceutical companies train our medical doctors I cut them some slack because of course the pharmaceutical companies will teach only what will benefit them. It does however amaze me how few medical doctors actually research natural healing and how many of them are so adamantly opposed to it.

Maybe one day our doctors will learn the benefit of both natural and pharmaceutically supported healing. The key though is healing, not masking the ailment or symptoms, unless there is nothing else which can be done.

So yes, I became my daughter’s doctor and I found a solution which worked amazingly well. Now I just need to find a natural solution so the mosquitoes will stay away from her. We are thinking Tea Tree Oil and the only way to know for sure is to test it.

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in A Submissive's Journey, Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

