Feelings about moving yet again…

I should be thrilled about buying a house. But, I’m not. I should be excited about the prospect of living in my own home and no longer renting. But, I’m not. I’m trying to get a handle on why. But, I’m not finding the handle to grasp.

I keep telling myself the excitement will come. However, all I see before me is the work to do for yet another move. I have moved at least a total of ten times since graduating high school and moving out on my own. This will make number eleven. That is approximately, one move every 3.36 years.

No wonder, the thought of moving just exhausts me. I look at everything around me and all I see is work.  Tomorrow, I have a moving company coming to give me an estimate for the whole package, packing everything for me and moving it all. As long as there isn’t anything heavy for me to lift a few things can be left behind for me to move on my own, like plants, and cleaning supplies for obvious reasons. But for the most part I want them to do everything. I’ll find out tomorrow just how much they will do and how much it will cost.

On the other hand, I need to make this place presentable for possible renters. Those who know me know how much I dislike housework. Maybe once I am past all of this the excitement will set in, but for now, I’m trying hard to just take one day at a time and get a bit done every day, even so though, I find myself procrastinating, which means I’ll probably end up in a flurry of activity trying to get it all done at once. It is hard not to be disappointed in myself when I do things like this.

I have to put an end to my procrastination. Tomorrow begins the effort to get this place in shape. It will be listed within the next couple of days for rent and even though we will be working towards moving sometime within a few days following August 6th, we will need to ensure it is presentable to those interested in renting.

This will also see the beginning of changes for my daughter and me. Having a place with the room we need will mean I can buy what I need to keep our home organized. It will take a while to get things the way we want them but we will get there and I hope my daughter will be onboard with me in keeping our home organized. I’m not obsessed about neatness, but I do want to feel good inside when friends come over. It all seems so daunting and maybe this is why I’m feeling the way I am.

About Kate Spyder

I'm a creative individual finding her way in her writing. I enjoy expressing my deep thoughts through poetry and stories. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feelings about moving yet again…

  1. My suggestion is one drawer at a time. Get a shit-ton of boxes in various sizes, make a pile for garbage, a pile for sell and a pile for donate, then open one drawer at a time and empty it into one of those piles or a box that you then seal, label and set to the side ready for moving. Breaking HUGE tasks down into small accomplishments seems to work for me. I usually start in the most obscure and unused areas first. But then again, that’s just me. Good Luck. The happiness will come on the day you realize that you can’t wait to get HOME. 🙂

    • Kate Spyder says:

      Thank you, very good idea, I’ll give it a try. The hard part is deciding what to let go of. I lived with a man one time who convinced me to get rid of all my memorabilia and it is something I regret to this day, so choosing what to let go of will be really hard.

  2. I’m with you. Overwhelming comes to mind. Hugs and lots of good vibes for energy going your way.

  3. Annie B says:

    I’m with Angel. I too hate moving but love the experience of a new home. Best wishes ❤️

  4. garym6059 says:

    Moving is a very daunting task (as I’m sure you are aware), deep breaths, focus you got this.

Leave a Reply

